ISO 45001 the new standard replacing OHSAS 18001


ISO 45001 is the new international standard for occupational health and safety (OH&S) management and will replace the existing OHSAS 18001 standard.

ISO 45001 is based on the same high level structure as the quality and environmental management system standards, ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015, so for organisations who use those standards the new structure and common features of ISO 45001 will be familiar.

ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001, which has been widely adopted alongside a number of other national standards. The International Accreditation Forum (IAF) is developing the migration requirements to help certified organisations, certification bodies, accreditation bodies and other interested parties prepare. We expect that there will be a three-year migration period from the publication of ISO 45001.

How LRQA can help?

With the standard progressing LRQA training has provided a full suite of ISO 45001 training courses to support organisations with their migration from OHSAS 18001 to ISO 45001.

businessman with bicycle

ISO 45001 Factsheet

OHSAS 18001 is changing - download PDF - ISO 45001 Occupational health and safety management systems - Factsheet.

ISO 45001 Migration Support Club

Keep up-to-date with the latest news on the new occupational health & safety management system, ISO 45001.