LRQA ISO Standards Update: Voting commences on ISO 45001

This week, 30 March, voting on the draft of ISO 45001 began. ISO 45001 sets the requirements for an occupational health and safety management system and is currently being developed by ISO project committee ISO/PC 283.

ISO 45001 is currently at the committee draft stage of development, which is the third stage in the standards development process but the first consultation phase. During this stage, the countries (ISO members) that have chosen to participate in the development of the new standard have two months to comment on the draft. 

ISO 45001 will replace OHSAS 18001 which was first published in 1999 to meet the need of organisations where no international health and safety standard existed.  It is expected that the final version of ISO 45001 will be available in October 2016 although this timeline is subject to change.

You can find out more about the development of ISO 45001 in our ISO Revisions section.

For more information about the revisions, visit: join the LRQA Transition Support Club or contact the dedicated transition team:

Transition Advisory Line
0800 014 9152

Transition Training Line
0800 328 6543

ISO 45001 Health and safety

Are you ready for the changes...?

Let us support you by enabling a smooth, pain-free transition to ISO 45001.