Transition Guide to IATF 16949:2016

In October 2016, the International Automotive Task Force (IATF) published a revised Quality Management System (QMS) standard specifically for the automotive industry, known as IATF 16949:2016.

This new standard will supersede and replace the current ISO/TS 16949:2009. IATF 16949:2016 fully supports the changes in ISO 9001:2015 with additional requirements that better meet the needs of the automotive industry.

Alignment with the ISO 9001:2015 structure makes it easier for organisations that need to implement more than one quality management system standard. IATF 16949:2016 highlights a number of key changes, and the following areas take precedence in the revised standard:

  • risk-based thinking
  • integration of customer specific requirements
  • first and second party auditor competency
  • product safety
  • manufacturing feasibility
  • warranty management
  • development of products with embedded software.

From 14 September 2018, IATF 16949:2016 will become an essential requirement for any organisation operating in the global automotive supply chain, with many of the world’s leading car manufacturers now making certification a contractual requirement for their suppliers.

The IATF has communicated that there will only be one transition option for organisations: Transition in line with the organisation’s current ISO/TS 16949 audit cycle.

To learn more, download the free IATF 16949:2016 Transition guide by completing the form below.